Green River LibGuides: ENGL 101 English Composition 1 (Bartley): Find Articles

Finding articles in the Holman Library

The following library databases provide you access to a number of different types of articles.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Part of Academic Search Complete (Also known as "Ebsco"). Thousands of full text articles from psychology and behavioral science magazines and journals ready to search with your subject keywords.
Communications and Mass Media OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and academic journals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find in-depth research and analysis in JSTOR's full text archive of academic journals in all subjects.

Search for sources in ALL Holman Library databases and book collections with One Search.

Holman Library One Search (Advanced Search)
Use the advanced search options to select source type (books, videos, scholarly peer-reviewed articles), online format, date ranges and more .
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

Historic Newspapers can be a great source for seeing how an artist was reviewed and received at the time - not in retrospect.

Newspapers -- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National and Washington newspapers. To see included titles, enter the database, click on the Databases Selected; link at the top left, scroll down to ProQuest Newspapers and click on View Titles.

Different sources give you different perspectives on your issue, and using a range of source types helps bring in different perspectives.

Good for facts and up-to-date information.
They often provide little analysis of a topic, and may not provide much background especially if it is an ongoing issue.
Some newspaper articles can share similarities with popular magazine articles.

Good for finding articles written for specific professions (police officer, veterinarian...etc.)
They may offer analysis of how an issue affects the profession.

Good to find results of scientific or academic research.
They are written for scholars and provide in-depth analysis of a very specific area of your topic.