Skip to Main Content

About the Library

Library Spaces and Use

Library Zones

Holman Library offers a computer lab, group study rooms, a Digital Media lab, and silent, quiet, and conversational spaces.

The second floor of the library has several different "zones" where you can study and get work done!  Open each zone area to see what is okay or not okay in each zone.

We rely on all of us in the GRC community to keep the library a good study space.

The majority of the second floor is a conversation zone. This includes the:

  • Tutoring & Resource Center,
  • Reference Desk,
  • group study rooms,
  • open computer lab space,
  • and study desks and tables near the Reference Desk.

This means that:

  • Conversations are okay at a "classroom discussion" level. 
  • Brief phone conversations are okay.
  • Yelling is not okay.
  • Devices should be set to a low volume, including phones and computers.
  • Groups of up to 6 people are okay.

(click image to enlarge)

Parts of the second floor are "whisper" zones. This includes the:

  • essential skills, DEI collection, and reference collection area,
  • copier and scanner area,
  • bathroom area,
  • shelves with current periodicals and popular DVDs,
  • shelves with the main collection, oversize collection, and periodicals,
  • shelves with the basic skills collection,
  • and HL 217 classroom.

This means that:

  • Brief and whispering conversations are okay. 
  • Devices should be set to silent or low volume with headphones.
  • Groups of up to 3 people are okay.

(click image to enlarge)

Parts of the second floor are "silent" zones. This includes the:

  • halls and study desks around the main library shelves,
  • and HL 213 classroom.

This means that:

  • No conversation is allowed. 
  • Phone conversations must be taken outside of the silent zone.
  • Devices should be set to silent or low volume with headphones.
  • Groups of any size are not okay.

(click image to enlarge)

 

Map of 2nd Floor

Map of 2nd Floor of Holman Library (click image to enlarge) (click on image to enlarge)

First Floor Map & Spaces

Public Access
Inside the Library

 

Circulation & Course Reserves Desks

Visit the Circulation Desk if you need to check out or return a library item, find a course textbook on reserve, or have your photo taken for a Green River ID card.

Digital Media Lab (HL 112)

HL 112 is used primarily as a student media production lab, located on the first floor. For additional information, please read about our Media Lab on the library policies page (link below).

Silent Study Room

If you need an absolutely quiet space to work or study alone, head to the Silent Study Room!

This room is not a computer lab, but you can check out a laptop from the Circulation Desk.

 

Silent study area downstairs, study carrels
Silent study area, first floor of library (click image to enlarge) (click on image to enlarge)
study area under the stairs
Study area under the stairs, first floor of library (click image to enlarge) (click on image to enlarge)

Faculty & Staff Areas

Inside the Library

For information about the faculty and staff access areas on the first floor of the library, please use the link below to access the page on GatorNet.

 

Public Access
Building Hallway (before you enter the Library itself)

 

(Outside) After-Hours Book Drop

There is an after-hours book drop available outside the south entrance to the library. You can return items to the book drop when the library is closed.

The Helen S. Smith Art Gallery

Upon entering from the south entrance of the library, the  Helen S. Smith Art Gallery is to the right. Come view the rotating display from our campus and regional art community!

Classrooms

Several classrooms can be found along the main hallway of the first floor. These include:
HL 147, HL 148, HL 149, HL 150 HL 152

 

Public Speaking Center (HL 150)

Second Floor Map & Spaces

Information Commons

The Information Commons is 160-seat open computer lab located and study area on the second floor of the Holman Library Building.

During open hours the Information Commons Reference Desk is staffed by Faculty Librarians who are available to help with information and research.

Student workers provide additional technology and computing assistance.

 

HL second floor - Information Commons Open Computer Lab
HL second floor - Information Commons Open Computer Lab  (click image to enlarge) (click on image to enlarge)

 

 

HL second floor - study tables
HL second floor - study tables  (click image to enlarge) (click on image to enlarge)

Tutoring & Resource Center

The Tutoring & Resource Center offers tutoring in science, computer science, business, foreign language, and more. Online and in-person tutoring is available.

Group Study Rooms

There are three group study rooms available on the second floor. These are on a first-come, first-served basis with priority to small groups of students.

study rooms
Study rooms, second floor of the library  (click image to enlarge) (click on image to enlarge)

Library Classrooms (HL 213 & HL 217)

The library classrooms in HL 213 & HL 217 are used for library workshops and classes. The classrooms are open student-only computing labs for when no class is in session (class sessions are listed on classroom doors each day).

 

2nd floor map black and white

2nd floor map of library (click image to enlarge) (click on image to enlarge)