Legal Research

An introduction to sources of information for research about the American legal system

News

News Sources

Searchable Law Journal

Featured Databases

Through Holman Library databases, linked below, you can search over 1300 journals on law and legal affairs. Use the different tabs in the box below to search for articles, following the search steps to limit to legal journals, in both Academic Search Complete and Proquest.

Databases

Locating Legal Journals

The screenshots below show how to locate articles from legal journals using Academic Search Complete
  • To search for a publication in this database, start by clicking on the Publications tab that appears below the search boxes, as shown in the image below.
  • Use the drop down option to limit to the database "Academic Search Complete" 
  • In the "Publications" search box, enter a possible journal title and click "Browse". This example uses the word "law"

(click on image to enlarge)

Publications tab from Academic Search Premier

  1. "Check" any titles that interest you - in this example, "Law and Contemporary Problems"

(click on image to enlarge) 

selecting a publication

  1. Click "Search within the publication" to find articles in a specific publication. Enter your search terms and press enter.
  • Keep trying different keywords and journal titles until you find what you need. Trying different keywords is a powerful way to discover the best sources for your research!

(click on image to enlarge) 

Search within this publication link

Searching for Legal Journals

These screenshots show how to find articles in legal journals using ProQuest:
  1. Starting at our homepage, scroll down to "Find Information" and click on "Databases by Name". Select ProQuest Combined Databases  Select the "Publications" tab (see above).

(click on image to enlarge)

Screenshot ProQuest Publications Tab

  1.  In the "Publications" search box, enter a possible journal title and click "Browse". This example uses the word "law"

(click on image to enlarge)

Screenshot publication search for law

 

  1. There are 510 journals with "law" in their titles available. Scroll down to view them

(click on image to enlarge)

Screenshot of publication search results

 

  1. Selection "American Business Law Journal" for this example, add your search term(s) and click to retrieve articles in the publication featuring your subject. Or, you can choose an issue to view to discover articles on particular publication dates

(click on image to enlarge)

Screenshot of search within publication in ProQuest

 

Jump start your research: Keep trying different keywords and journals until you find what you need. Trying different keywords is a powerful way to discover the best sources for your research!

Find Legal Scholarship

Searching for Legal Scholarship

Google Scholar > Case Law Search

Google Scholar for Law

Tags: business, law