SOC 271 Sociology of Deviance

1. Form a Research Question or Hypothesis

1. FORM A RESEARCH QUESTION OR HYPOTHESIS

A. Use the info you found in your initial literature review to spark a specific question you want to study about your community.  You may wish to consider questions about the group’s identity, attitudes, beliefs, behaviors, rules, norms, history, stereotypes…etc

Example: Through my research I found that tattoos are common for members of the roller derby community.  I want to find out why, and how tattoos and other aesthetic notions of the body inform the identity of members both personally and as a community

B. Watch a short video below which covers:

  • How do you form a research question or hypothesis?
  • How do you collect data through experiments, surveys, participant observation or existing resources (brief overview)?
  • How do you analyze data through induction and deduction?

2. Decide on Your Data Collection Method

2. DECIDE ON YOUR DATA COLLECTION METHOD

Choose videos below to learn more about which type of data collection method you may want to choose for your project:

A) Qualitative Data Collection Methods: Individual Interviews
B) Qualitative Data Collection Methods: Focus Groups and Types of Observations (part 1)
C) Qualitative Data Collection Methods: How to Set Up Observations (part 2), Documents and Artifacts, Data Triangulation
D) Qualitative Data Collection Methods: Surveys

SOC 271 Research Worksheet

Find Perspectives from within Deviant Communities

Suggested ways to search for sources and conversations from people within the deviant communities themselves:

1. Go to google.com

2. Type in the name of your community and one of the search words below.  You may have to try several different searches:

  • blogs
  • listservs
  • forums
  • chat rooms
  • Reddit

examples:

roller derby blogs
roller derby chat rooms
roller skating forums

 

3. Also try searching for groups in https://www.facebook.com/groups/