LibGuides: BIOL 160: General Biology: Find Health & Science Info for the General Public

Health, Medicine & Science Sources at Holman Library

To find health and science information created for the general public, pay attention to source types in the tools below.

Look for magazines, newspapers, reference, consumer newsletters and other sources that are not scholarly peer reviewed sources.

Be sure to select current enough information sources.

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full text articles for more than 180 peer-reviewed journals. Includes pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference books and multimedia on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.
Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides popular-level articles from consumer health publications on all different topics related to medicine, nutrition, fitness, and health.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
"Supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering health and wellness topics from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine."
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Consumer health topics range from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Over 350 full-text magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade publications and over 300 health video clips.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.

What is Info for the General Public?

Information created to inform the general public includes:

credible journalism in print and multimedia
health newsletters
patient education sheets ... and more

Select Journalism

Science Friday
A science radio program/website from National Public Radio (with links to reliable source material).
New York Times: Science
New York Times: Health
Scientific American
in Academic Search Complete
Tufts University Health and Medicine Letter
In Academic Search Complete
Tufts Nutrition Newsletter
"The goal of the Tufts Health & Nutrition Letter ... is to provide the consumer with honest, reliable, scientifically authoritative health and nutrition advice that not only can be trusted but can have a direct and often immediate effect on their health. The content of our newsletter is based substantially from the research and expertise of the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy."