Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 101 English Composition 1 (Chase): 2) Opposing Viewpoints in Context

This guide was created to help you with research in Elaine Chase's English 101

Database features

Featured Database:

Opposing Viewpoint in Context


General Description:

This research database covers many subjects including science, social studies, current events, and language arts. Opposing Viewpoints In Context includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. Content from periodicals covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more

Information Type Contained:
  • Viewpoint essays
  • Reference articles
  • Periodical articles (academic, magazine, newspaper)
  • Multimedia (images, videos)
  • and more!
Features:
  • Citation builder, highlight/take notes, save articles, email articles and more!
  • Search or browse issues
Search Tools:
  • Search using basic keywords, or by other elements like author or subject. The built in AND, OR, and NOT (Boolean Operators) allows you to narrow or broaden your search. You can limit by information type, date of publication, and more.
Ideal for:
  • Finding overview information and analysis on current issues.
  • Examining the existing arguments surrounding controversial issues
  • Opposing Viewpoints is a great and credible alternative to using websites like Wikipedia.
Similar Databases:
  • CQ Researcher 
 
Note: This database doesn’t have information on all topics; however, if the topic you’re searching is at all controversial there is a good chance that you find some information about it.

Searching this database