Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 101 English Composition 1 (Chase): 1) Gale Virtual Reference Library

This guide was created to help you with research in Elaine Chase's English 101

Database features

Featured Database:
Gale Virtual Reference Library


General Description:

A database that houses a collection of concise and detailed digitized reference books - such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs - covering many disciplines.

Information Type Contained:

Electronic reference books, namely short, credible articles from specialized encyclopedias.

Useful Features:

Email articles, download/print articles, and creates MLA or APA citations for articles

Search Tools:

Search using basic keywords, or browse by subject. This database allows you to access topical articles from a wide range of books using an integrated search, as well as allowing you to search within entire encyclopedias.

Ideal for:

Finding short, detailed articles that contain factual background information on a number of topics. This is a great database to begin with, as you can find overviews, biographies, and general descriptions/definitions on a number of topics. It is great for helping you learn about a topic and gain new keywords.

A great alternative to using:

Wikipedia or general websites often linked through Google such as About.com or biography.com

This database does not contain:

Magazine articles, newspaper articles, or journal articles.

Searching this database

Click on image to enlarge view

Screenshot of search results in GVRL