LibGuides: ENGL 101 English Composition 1 (Theme: Career and Industry): Find Business Information

Professional Associations online

Association web sites

Professional associations are organizations that support members of a certain profession. An association helps members of specific field keep current, develop themselves professionally, and come together to discuss important issues in their profession.

An association's web site is a great place to learn about a potential career. Use Google to find an association web site for your profession. Search with your profession name and association (example: librarian association).

Company Information from Business Insights: Global

Using Business Insights

Use Business Insights Global to find company information, including Company Profiles, SWOT Reports, Industry Analyses, Plunkett Reports, and more. In this database, do pay attention to date! You need current information.

Business Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, case studies, SWOT analyses, financial reports and other in-depth statistical data on US and international companies, and tools to compare global economies, countries, and industries.

Business Insights Global offers both industry and company research. Search or browse for reports.

(click on image to enlarge)

As shown in the image below, you can enter a specific company or use the entry points in the menu at the top to find relevant business information. The image, showing a search of Amazon, returns a range of information from Brands to SWOT Reports

(click on image to enlarge)

What are Trade Journals?

Searching for Trade publications

Trade publications contain articles written for professionals in a specific industry.

Use the library databases ProQuest and Academic Search Complete to search for articles within trade publications.

Here's a screenshot with step-by-step instructions (written below) on searching trade publications in ProQuest

Type in your keywords in the ProQuest databases search boxes to find articles
Select "Full-Text" so you can limit the results to only articles you can read/download/email immediately
Notice the ways to limit by source type. Here, we are limiting to Trade Journals and Scholarly Journals.
Carry out the search

(click on image to enlarge)

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including articles from professional publications across the social sciences, natural sciences, trades, information technologies, and humanities.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)

Business Databases

Business Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, case studies, SWOT analyses, financial reports and other in-depth statistical data on US and international companies, and tools to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, and MarketLine Company Profiles.
Business Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search ABI/INFORM, The Wall Street Journal and ProQuest business journals in one search.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Major trade and industry news about companies, products, executives, trends, and other topics from more than 3,850 publications. Included in ProQuest Combined Databases search.
Newspapers -- Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search several hundred U.S. and International newspapers as well as regional business publications, providing more than 60 million full text articles.