Skip to main content

One Book 2018-2019: Intersectionality - Citizen & Born Bright: Find More Resources

GRC's 18-19 One Book explores the experience of intersectionality in two titles: Born Bright: A Young Girl's Journey from Nothing to Something in American by C. Nicole Mason & Citizen: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine

Librarian notes - (feel free to add notes & "see also" suggestions here)

Librarian notes

As of 5/05/20 all the content on this page is accessible and has notes about use eg. [okay to map OR copy] [okay to MAP]

  • Each box on this page should already have a note about the box's use - that is, whether or not it is okay to COPY it (meaning it contains no links at all) or MAP to it (it has links or widgets).
  • If you add a box to the page, please do likewise.

*See the first tab "How to use this guide" for more about when to copy and when to map

  • See specific database pages, like PQ , for related boxes

Guides that use some of these boxes

Below are guides that contain some of the boxes on this page and might have additional relevant content you may find helpful

Starting with some news [okay to map OR copy]

Start your research with news sources

You have two goals:

  1. To conduct primary research by looking through, rather than closely reading, a wide range of news articles on your topic to:
  • Get an overview of: narratives about members of your group
  • Get a sense of narratives you don't see
  • Find variations in narratives.
  • Help you narrow your topic to one particular narrative. Starting broadly helps you understand context, while a narrowed topic enables your essays to provide enough depth.
  1. To conduct secondary research with articles that teach you about your social group and some of the mainstream and alternative stories about your group

Tip: you may learn of organizations working on behalf of or created by members of your group. You can track them down on the Web.

Why News Sources? [okay to map OR copy]

Using news articles as a source

Learn about current issues from credible news sources. 

News sources are "non-scholarly," but that does not mean they are bad sources. These are sources that are researched by journalists for the general public, rather than an academic or professional audience.

Unlike scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, news sources generally cover current events and issues.

Editorials and Op-Eds even provide opinion.

Popular news sources are a good place to look if you want to see what has happened on an issue or what public opinion might be.

Newspapers as a source [okay to copy OR map]

Why use newspapers?

image of newspaper covers

Image: Inquisitr.com. Dec. 19 2011. Web. Jan. 2012.

Newspaper articles inform us daily about current events, issues, and opinion. Read newspaper articles to learn about current and past international, national and local issues. 

Some newspapers such as The New York Times (searchable in ProQuest) offer in-depth reporting on urban topics and may be a great resource for this project. You can limit a newspaper search by title to The New York Times.  

News Databases in Holman Library [okay to copy OR map]

Films on Demand, your library streaming video database, carries some news programs from Frontline, PBS, the BBC, and more. 

Limiting to popular sources [okay to MAP]

Finding magazines in ProQuest & Academic Search

Use the databases ProQuest or Academic Search Complete to search for magazine and newspaper articles. Remember to limit to only magazine and/or newspaper articles by checking the appropriate boxes by source or document type or by narrowing to source type after you search (see images below).

Limiting to magazines and newspapers in ProQuest databases

As shown in the image below, the advanced search page in the databases allows you to control the results you see. 

  • Here you can see that you can search by using multiple keywords. By combining videogam* AND gender you can be more specific about the results you get; you can narrow them. The asterisk * mark at the end of the word tells the search tool to find all forms of a root word, eg. videogames, videogaming, etc.
  • When you need results right away - articles that you can download immediately - it's always a good idea to limit to "full text" as well. 
  • Finally, under the option for "Source Type," you'll find the option to limit your results to see articles of just one type; here, just magazines is selected. 

(click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of the advanced search page in PQ showing how to limit to a specific source type, as outlined in the instructions above the image


Limiting by source type in Academic Search and other EBSCO databases

Limiting in academic search is very similar to limiting in Proquest. You can limit to a specific source type while you're on the first, advanced search page, or you can wait until you enter a search and see results, then, use the limiters on the side. 

  • As shown in the image below, you can look under "Source Type" and limit to just magazines and newspapers

(click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of the database showing how to limit to magazines and newspapers under "source types" on the left-hand side of the results page in academic search


For more search tips and information about popular sources like this, consider the guide linked below:

Limiting to popular sources (tabbed version) [okay to MAP]

Searching the databases

The following databases are great places to search for newspaper and magazine articles. See the tab to the left for a visual and more instructions on how to search and limit your results in these databases

Limiting to magazines and newspapers in ProQuest databases

As shown in the image below, the advanced search page in the databases allows you to control the results you see. 

  • Here you can see that you can search by using multiple keywords. By combining videogam* AND gender you can be more specific about the results you get; you can narrow them. The asterisk * mark at the end of the word tells the search tool to find all forms of a root word, eg. videogames, videogaming, etc.
  • When you need results right away - articles that you can download immediately - it's always a good idea to limit to "full text" as well. 
  • Finally, under the option for "Source Type," you'll find the option to limit your results to see articles of just one type; here, just magazines is selected. 

(click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of the advanced search page in PQ showing how to limit to a specific source type, as outlined in the instructions above the image


Limiting by source type in Academic Search and other EBSCO databases

Limiting in academic search is very similar to limiting in Proquest. You can limit to a specific source type while you're on the first, advanced search page, or you can wait until you enter a search and see results, then, use the limiters on the side. 

  • As shown in the image below, you can look under "Source Type" and limit to just magazines and newspapers

(click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of the database showing how to limit to magazines and newspapers under "source types" on the left-hand side of the results page in academic search


For more search tips and information about popular sources like this, consider the guide linked below:

Finding magazines and newspapers in ProQuest [okay to map OR copy]

Searching ProQuest

ProQuest is one of the best tools to search for newspaper and magazine articles. Remember to limit to only magazine articles or newspaper articles by checking the appropriate boxes. You may search both together. Selecting Feature as the Document Type will return more substantial articles.

Searching independent & alternative news 

For the alternative and independent press, ProQuest features two collections. Note that much of this content is in a ProQuest search. Using Ethnic NewsWatch and Alt-Press Watch helps you know if it's mainstream or not.

  • Ethnic NewsWatch: For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.
  • Alt-Press Watch: A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.

The image below shows how to limit your search to full-text results and how to search for a phrase using quotation marks, such as "black lives matter"

(click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of the database search page

Generating Topic Ideas on Local & Regional Issues [okay to MAP]

Local and regional news

Use the database and website linked below to generate topic ideas and search for primary media texts.

*Note that most local papers are not included in ProQuest. See the box on this page for key local news sources.

Searching newspapers for local news

  1. Search for news coverage and editorials in the publications included in ProQuest News and Newspapers.
    As shown in the image below, you can limit to newspapers and magazines, as well as full-text (if needed), and you can use multiple search terms to find relevant articles. Be sure to also limit by date.

(click on image to enlarge)

search screen outlining the features written in the text above this image


Searching online in Newseum

  1. Read the front page of local newspapers at the Newseum website
    As shown in the image below, you can get topic ideas from the world's current or historically significant events. And, you can sort papers by region, country, and state.

(click on image to enlarge)

search screen showing how to limit by location and date

Checking the Facts [okay to MAP]

Fact-Checking

Politicians are not required by law to tell the truth and government agencies can be influenced by political bias. Be sure to check your facts and figures!

Local Alternative & Independent Newspapers [okay to MAP]

Local alternative & independent news

See what's happening locally and how different communities talk about themselves and their issues in the pages of these alternative publications.

Spotlight on Pew Research Center (tabbed) [okay to Map)

Using Pew Research Center

"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions." - Pew Research Center

Source: "Peer What is Pew Research Center?" by Pew Research Center, Standard YouTube license

Quote source: Pew Research Center. "About Pew Research Center." Pew Research Center, www.pewresearch.org/about/. Accessed 19 July 2020.


Accessing Pew Research Center

Use the link below to find credible reports, articles, and statistics on such larger topics as U.S. Politics, Media & News, Social Trends, Internet & Tech, Science and more!

Browse topics on Pew Research Center

Browse Pew Researcher topics to find research on social identity groups and issues. Think about different entry points to your topic.

(click on image to enlarge)

Pew Research Topic Browse page

Following links

This page on Educational Attainment (in the image below) links to four other reports with current, impartial, and reliable analysis. Be sure to follow the leads you get as you search - and to keep track of them!

(click on image to enlarge)

Pew Educational Attainment Reports

An example

The image below shows the start of a report on college enrollment among Hispanic Americans.

(click on image to enlarge)

Pew Enrollment Rates Hispanics

Why use newspapers? [okay to map or copy]

Using newspapers as a source

a pile of newspapers

Image source: photo taken by GRC librarians

Newspapers provide a daily record of events.

Newspapers provide articles about current events. Most are published daily. Almost every city has its own newspaper to keep track of local information. Most major newspapers newspapers also publish on a web site.

Use a Newspaper to:
  • find current information about international, national and local events

  • find editorials, commentaries, expert or popular opinions

Best tools for finding newspaper articles?
  • While you can find a handful of print newspapers inside the library, you can quickly access many more newspapers online, through the databases linked below. 
  • After searching by keyword, you can limit to just newspapers under Source Type. Or you can choose to search inside just one publication. 

Finding topics in the news [okay to MAP]

Searching for topic ideas in newspapers

Newspapers are often great places to find controversial topics. The image below, showing the cover page of the New York Times, is a great example of how headlines can be turned into arguable topics. Look at these examples taken from the headlines: 

  • Headline:U.N. Security Counsel Passes New Sanctions Against Iran
    • Arguable topic:  The U.S. should implement sanctions against Iran
  • Headline: Bernake Says the Federal Debt is 'Unsustainable'
    • Arguable topic: The Fed and Congress must prioritize decreasing the federal debt
  • Headline: Democrat in Chief?
    • Arguable topic: The President's job is not to lead the Democratic party

(click on image to enlarge)

image of the NY Times online website, with notes, written in the text before this image, pointing out headlines

Using Newseum

You can also find newspapers using the source called "Newseum" It's a good place to start looking for research inspiration from the headlines of today's newspapers.

  Finding magazine and newspaper articles [okay to MAP]

Finding magazines & newspaper articles

Find magazine, newspaper and multimedia news sources on current issues in criminal justice.

Search tips:
  • To limit your search to only magazine and/or new articles, select magazines or newspapers at Publication Type.

  • If you choose newspaper articles, look for substance! Try limiting to cover story, feature, front page for longer articles.


Or, another option: Go directly to the alternative press

Finding magazines in the databases [okay to map]

Limiting by source type: magazines

You can limit by source type in most databases. The instructions and the images below show how you can limit to magazines and/or newspaper articles in any EBSCO database (like Academic Search) and in any ProQuest database. 

In ProQuest

As shown in the image below, the advanced search page in the databases allows you to control the results you see. 

  • Here you can see that you can search by using multiple keywords. By combining videogam* AND gender you can be more specific about the results you get; you can narrow them. The asterisk * mark at the end of the word tells the search tool to find all forms of a root word, eg. videogames, videogaming, etc.
  • When you need results right away - articles that you can download immediately - it's always a good idea to limit to "full text" as well. 
  • Finally, under the option for "Source Type," you'll find the option to limit your results to see articles of just one type; here, just magazines is selected. 

(click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of the advanced search page in PQ showing how to limit to a specific source type, as outlined in the instructions above the image


In Academic Search and other EBSCO databases

Limiting in academic search is very similar to limiting in Proquest. You can limit to a specific source type while you're on the first, advanced search page, or you can wait until you enter a search and see results, then, use the limiters on the side. 

  • As shown in the image below, you can look under "Source Type" and limit to just magazines and newspapers

(click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of the database showing how to limit to magazines and newspapers under "source types" on the left-hand side of the results page in academic search


For more search tips and information about popular sources like this, consider the guide linked below:

Searching in Newseum [okay to MAP]

Using Newseum

You can also find newspapers using the source called "Newsuem" It's a good place to start looking for research inspiration from the headlines of today's newspapers.

Newseum logo "Washington, D.C.'s most interactive museum"

Local News Sources [okay to MAP]

A word on paywalls! Online newspapers limit the number of free articles you get per month. Check our library databases to see if we have it in our collection too.

Find News, Analysis and Opinion in Holman Library Databases [okay to MAP]

Browse Topics Online for Current Issues [okay to MAP]

Searching for topics in the news

Newspapers are ripe with researchable topics! Headlines can generate topics or you can dig deeper for an issue that interests you.  Use the links below to find news articles to get ideas for topics.

Other Historical Newspapers [okay to MAP]

Historical newspapers in library databases 

Alternative & Independent News [okay to MAP]

Local news [okay to MAP]

Finding local mainstream news