Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding News (plus Editorials / Opinion) in Newspapers & Magazines
ProQuest Combined Databases
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
How to build a search to find opinion
To build a search for opinion in article databases, try these tips:
Enter more than one
keyword or keyword phrase in your search - try to focus your topic. Check
Full Text to see articles where you can access and read the entire article's text online. Select
Magazine and Newspaper under "Source Type" to see articles from these types of publications. Select
Document Types known to have opinion.
Front Page/Cover Story
(click on image to enlarge)
Use Google News to find general news stories from current papers, magazines, and websites.
Online Resources for International News
Newseum: Today's Front Pages
"The Newseum educates the public about the value of a free press in a free society and tells the stories of the world's important events in unique and engaging ways."
International News Websites
Global media service that broadcasts to more than 220 million households in more than 100 countries.
International Herald Tribune
International edition of the New York Times
UK news, published in London
"Xinhuanet was launched in 1997 as the online news service of Xinhua News Agency. It releases important news about China and the world around the clock."
Recommended National (U.S.) News / Feature Websites