Green River LibGuides: Financial Literacy: Financial Literacy Resources

Financial Literacy Resources

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning has thousands of streaming video tutorials taught by experts covering IT, business, and creative topics.

Learn about financial basics and more with LinkedIn Learning courses.

Go to Business > Personal Finance

(click on image to enlarge)

Holman Library One Search

Use the search box below to find books, articles, and videos about financial literacy.

(Put phrases in quotes. Ex: "student debt")

Suggested Keywords	Customize Your Search
Personal finance	Limit by year
Financial literacy	Limit by subject (personal finance, consumer education, etc.)
Income inequality	Limit by source type (book, article, streaming video, etc.)

Databases for Financial News

Newspapers -- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National and Washington newspapers. To see included titles, enter the database, click on the Databases Selected; link at the top left, scroll down to ProQuest Newspapers and click on View Titles.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.

Resources at Green River College

GRC Benefits Hub
Visit the Benefits Hub site to schedule an appointment with a coach, see upcoming workshops, current drop-in hours, and more!

Benefits Hub offers one-stop financial assistance and enrollment in benefits, including:

FAFSA/WASFA Assistance
Utility Assistance
Homelessness Prevention and Housing Navigation
Financial Coaching
Food Resources
Help Paying for Financial Emergencies
Connections to Additional Community Resources
Enrollment in Public Benefits
Reduced fare ORCA Lift program
Assistance in applying to EBT (Basic Food/Food Stamps)
Healthcare

GRC Student Employment and "Handshake" Job Search
Many opportunities for employment are available at Green River College, from institutional funding through federal and state funding.
GRC Career & Advising Center
Go to (or make an appointment at) Green River College's Career and Advising Center, which "offers comprehensive career and education planning resources for current and prospective students, alumni and community members."
GRC Financial Aid
Includes information and assistance with grants and scholarships, loans, and employment.

Online Resources for Financial Literacy

MyMoney.gov
This website is a product of the Congressionally chartered Federal Financial Literacy and Education Commission, which is made up of more than 20 Federal entities that are coordinating and collaborating to strengthen financial capability and increase access to financial services for all Americans.
CashCourse
Student scan register for a free account to help them make smarter financial decisions.
iGrad
Financial literacy and career resources
National Public Radio (NPR): Planet Money
Imagine you could call up a friend and say, "Meet me at the bar and tell me what's going on with the economy." Now imagine that's actually a fun evening. That's what we're going for at Planet Money. Want to know more?
FDIC: Consumer Assistance & Information - Consumer Protection Topics
The FDIC recognizes the importance of providing consumers with useful information to help them make informed decisions about their money and to protect themselves against financial scams and fraud. You’ll find information here on specific banking topics that provides general information on the topic as well as links to other resources to learn more.
Washington State Department of Financial Institutions: Financial Education - Predatory Lending
Consumers can be lured into dealing with predatory lenders by aggressive mail, phone, TV, and even door-to-door sales tactics. Their advertisements promise lower monthly payments as a way out of debt, but don't tell potential borrowers that they will be paying more and longer. They may target minority communities by advertising in a specific language, or target neighborhoods with high numbers of elderly homeowners, or homeowners with little access to credit."

Books from the Holman Library

The Infographic Guide to Personal Finance: A Visual Reference for Everything You Need to Know by Michele Cagan; Elisabeth Lariviere
Call Number: 332.024 C131i 2017
ISBN: 9781507204665
Essential College Skills
The One-Page Financial Plan: A Simple Way to be Smart About Your Money by Carl Richards
Call Number: 332.024 R514o 2015
ISBN: 9781591847557
Available in print Main Collection
Personal Finance for Dummies by Eric Tyson
Call Number: 332.024 T994pe 2019
ISBN: 9781119517894
Main Collection
The Cat & the Banker: How to Get Started with Investing: An Illustrated Story by Nadir Mehadji
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9789814794442
Publication Date: 2018
Available through EBSCO--Click title for access
Bad with Money: The Imperfect Art of Getting Your Financial Sh*t Together by Gaby Dunn
Call Number: 332.024 D923b 2019
ISBN: 9781501176333
Main Collection