Skip to Main Content

Professional Ethics: Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Sources

Scholarly Articles

Some features of scholarly literature:

Reports of original research
Authored by credentialed experts in the scholarly field
In-depth analyses of topics
Abstract that summarizes the article. Read to determine relevance
Explanation of methodology and materials
Discussion of study and results
Literature Cited section
In-text citations or notes
Use technical vocabulary

Sample ASP search: "business ethics in the United States"

'business ethics in the United States' - ASP search
A sample search of the 'Academic Search Complete' database collection on the topic of business ethics in the U.S.

Find Articles in Databases

These ARTICLE DATABASES will help you find peer-reviewed journal articles that are often not freely accessible on the internet.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.

Find magazines, journals, newspapers in all academic disciplines
Type combinations of specific search words in the search boxes
You must check the "full text" option below the search boxes to find the full text of an article

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)

Find magazines, journals, newspapers in all academic disciplines
Type combinations of specific search words in the search boxes
You must check the "full tex" option below the search boxes to find the full text of an article

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search 2,000 full-text scholarly peer-reviewed journals in Science, Social Sciences, Humanities and Health Sciences

Find scholarly journal articles in all academic disciplines.
Works well for topics in literature, sociology and history
Type very specific (not broad!) search words in the search boxes

Holman Library Databases by Subject
See all of the library's database collections, sorted by subject area. This list is a good place to see the entire list of electronic article resources available in a specific field. You will need to log in with your GRC email address and password to access off-campus.

EXAMPLE SEARCH