When we examine current social issues, we find that there are multiple points of view involved. In order to be well-informed, you want to learn what the major issues are, who the different individuals and groups involved are, how the issue developed, where it is happening, when and why. You also want to learn what those different stakeholders have to say about the problem.
When you explore these different viewpoints, you are exploring the conversation around the problem. You will want to look at different views in a non-judgemental way, even if they do not agree with your own opinion or feelings on the problem.
Your first step is to gather factual information about the issue.
Image soure: Reasonable Protest Sign. 2015. David Putney Blog. Web. 1 Apr. 2015.
Use reference books and articles:
to get factual background information on an issue or topic. Learn the "who, what, when, where, why's."
to get statistical information (be sure it's current enough)
to quickly scan a topic for keywords
to get leads to other sources (bibliographies)
African American Eras by 
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by 
Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements by 
Great events from history. Gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender events, 1848-2006 by 
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by 
Use reference articles to understand the general view of what is happening with an issue, who is involved, and why there is debate over it.
You can use important words or ideas (see the highlighted words in the example below) as keywords to build more focused or related searches.
Social Issues in America: an Encyclopedia by 
Illegal Immigration: A Reference Handbook by 
Immigration in U.S. History by 
Encyclopedia of Animal Rights and Animal Welfare by 
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by 
Sexual Violence and Abuse by 
Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States by 
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender by 
