Green River LibGuides: US Indigenous Studies: Heritage & Culture

Library Databases

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College
U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.
History Reference Source (EBSCO Explora) This link opens in a new window
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, EBSCO History Reference Source is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books, and thousands of primary source documents.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for films on many topics, such as Anthropology, Biology, Business & Economics, Careers, and many more.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search for literary work overviews and author biographies plus scholarly literary criticism and analysis of authors and their works - novels, short stories, poetry, and drama including Shakespeare plays.

Image Archives

Hiser, David. Newspaper Rock Is a Large Cliff Mural of Ancient Indian Petroglyphs and Pictographs, Remarkable for the Clarity of Its Numerous Figures, 05/1972. 1972. The U.S. National Archives. Flickr. Yahoo. 19 Nov. 2015.

National Archives: November - Native American Heritage Month
This set contains photos and documents from the National Archives that relate to Native American Heritage Month in November.
The Bancroft Library: Native American Collections
Northwestern University: Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian
University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections: American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection Introductory essays, 2300 original photographs and 1500 pages of textual sources about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures constitute an award-winning project developed for the Library of Congress' American Memory in partnership with the Museum of History and Industry and the Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture.
Center for Native American and Indigenous Research-American Philosophical Society
The Center for Native American and Indigenous Research (CNAIR) at the APS Library & Museum works with Indigenous communities throughout the Americas
more...less...
and with campus- and community-based scholars in many disciplines and traditions. Its goal is to assist people in finding and utilizing the extensive archival collections at the Library and Museum of the APS in innovative ways that honor Indigenous knowledge, cultivate scholarship, and strengthen languages and cultural traditions.
Burke Museum Culture Collections
Archaeological to contemporary culture collections including Native arts of the Pacific Northwest

Online Streaming Videos

Indigenous Cinema
The "National Film Board of Canada's award-winning online Screening Room, featuring over 3,000 productions. . . . [It] includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. We showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more."

"There are many talented weavers within the community like James Bamba, Jose Cruz, and Thomas Torres whose goal is to preserve and perpetuate our culture through the art of weaving."

Films on Demand - Native American Studies
Videos covering history, culture and current issues.

Books in the Library

UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes

Main Collection and eBook

Call Number: 970.1 U96

Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist.

Spirit of the First People: Native American Music Traditions of Washington State

Main Collection

Call Number: 780.8997 S759 1999

Spirit of the First People is a collection of personal narratives, stories, and essays on the music of the First People in the region that now encompasses Washington State.

Eating the Landscape: American Indian Stories of Food, Identity, and Resilience

Main Collection

Call Number: 979.004 S172e 2012

Enrique Salmón weaves his historical and cultural knowledge as a renowned Indigenous ethnobotanist with stories American Indian farmers have shared with him to illustrate how traditional Indigenous foodways

Indians and Wannabes: Native American Powwow Dancing in the Northeast and Beyond

eBook

Examines powwows primarily in and around New York City, New Jersey, and Connecticut and along the Atlantic coastline into New England.

Listening to Our Ancestors: The Art of Native Life Along the North Pacific Coast

Main Collection

Call Number: 979.5004 L773 2005

In this exhibition, representatives from 11 Native communities along the North Pacific Coast share their perspectives on more than 400 ceremonial and everyday objects that connect them to their lands, customs and ancestors.

Coming of Age in Samoa: A Psychological Study of Primitive Youth for Western Civilisation

Main Collection

Call Number: 306.0996 M479c 2001

Coming of Age in Samoa is a 1928 book by American anthropologist Margaret Mead based upon her research and study of youth – primarily adolescent girls – on the island of Taʻū in the Samoan Islands

Decolonizing "prehistory" : deep time and indigenous knowledges in North America

Main Collection

Call number 970.00497 D296 2021

Examines and challenges the paradoxical role that modern historical-archaeological scholarship plays in adding legitimacy to, but also delegitimizing, contemporary colonialist practices.

Lakota America

Main Collection & eBook Collection

Call Number 978.004 H198l 2019

The first comprehensive history of the Lakota Indians and their profound role in shaping America's history This first complete account of the Lakota Indians traces their rich and often surprising history from the early sixteenth to the early twenty first century.

Web Resources

National Museum of the American Indian
A diverse and multifaceted cultural and educational enterprise, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex.
more...less...
The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
Locations of North American Native Nations and Cultural Institutions
University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections: American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
Introductory essays, 2300 original photographs and 1500 pages of textual sources about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures
more...less...
constitute an award-winning project developed for the Library of Congress' American Memory in partnership with the Museum of History and Industry and the Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture.
Sequoyah National Research Center
National Park of American Samoa
Hawaiian Historical Society
Native American Heritage - National Park Service
Native American cultural resources presented by the National Park Service
Listen to Native Voices
This interactive features speakers of Native American languages in their own voices from across North American.