Just before the 2014 Superbowl, the National Congress of American Indians released the Proud To Be ad (above), calling for the end of using American Indians as a mascot.
Associated Press: Calls to dump Columbus Day are getting louder as cities across the country replace it with “Indigenous People’s Day." Native Americans say it's necessary to atone for Christopher Columbus’ legacy but some Italian Americans are outraged by it.
Main Collection and eBook
Call Number: 970.004 R632a 2011
Both a tribute to the unique experiences of individual Native Americans and a celebration of the values that draw American Indians together, All Indians Do Not Live in Teepees (or Casinos) explores contemporary Native life.
Main Collection
Call Number: 305.897 A512 2012
Chronicling milestones in the relationship between Indians and the media, some of the chapters employ a historical perspective, and other focus on contemporary practices and new technologies.
Main Collection
Call Number: 305.897 C761 1999
Moving into the 21st century, Native American, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian communities remain culturally vibrant and deeply engaged in struggles for survival on many fronts. Editor Duane Champagne has assembled a volume of top scholarship from which emerge the complexity and diversity of Native American life.
Main Collection
Call Number: 323.1197 C761 1999
Moving into the 21st century, Native American, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian communities remain culturally vibrant and politically innovative as they continue to struggle for survival on many fronts. Editor Troy R. Johnson has assembled a volume of top scholarship from which emerge the complexity and diversity of Native American political life.
Main Collection
Call Number: 305.897 C968 2006
Today as in the past there are many cultural and commercial representations of American Indians that, thoughtlessly or otherwise, negatively shape the images of indigenous people. Jolivétte and his co-authors challenge and contest these images, demonstrating how Native representation and identity are at the heart of Native politics and Native activism.
Main Collection and eBook
Call Number: 323.442 S649s 2006
In this collection of illuminating conversations, renowned historian of world religions Huston Smith invites ten influential American Indian spiritual and political leaders to talk about their five-hundred-year struggle for religious freedom.
Mail Collection
305.897 S467 2001
Chapters cover different topics, including one on the staging of Indian culture at Tillicum Village.