LibGuides: ENGL 248 African American Literature: Historical & Biographical Contexts

OLD CONTENT FROM TABBED BOX ON THIS PAGE _--- OKAY TO DELETE??????????????????

US History in Context has lots of relevant information on the events of US history.

Search by specific topic or browse by timeline or subject. Use the screenshots below to see how to use US History in Context for this project.

Enter the name of your author into the search field, as in the image below.

From the Search Results, limit your search to Reference for background resources.

Holman Library History and Biography Databases

History Database: US History in Context
Biography Database: Biography in Context

Searching U.S. History in Context

This database has lots of relevant information on the events of US history. YOu can search by topic, keyword, or browse a list of subjects.

U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.

In the image below, notice as well that there are many different source types, from overviews, academic content, as well as newspapers, magazines, and more.

(click on image to enlarge)

Searching Biography in Context

This is a great database to find biographical information on an array of notable people.

Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference entries, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, podcasts, and images covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers.

As shown in the search below, you can...

Enter the name of your author into the search field using the Advanced Search option
Search a simple keyword or name in the search box at the top of the database page
Limit your search to Reference for background resources, or choose different source types.

(click on image to enlarge)