LibGuides: ENGL 248 African American Literature: Enslavement Era

Streaming Videos through the Public Library

Accessing the KCLS Library System

As a student at Green River College, you automatically have access to online library resources at King County Library System.

Use the links below to find streaming videos!

To Log in: use GRC + your student username. (The part before the @ in your GRC email address.)
Example OLD email: GRCjsmith23
Example NEW email: GRCsmith.jane.23
PIN number: your pin is the last four characters of your log in. Example: e.23

Steaming Video Databases

Access Video
Hoopla
Kanopy

King County Library System (KCLS): College Student Accounts
Browse all KCLS databases by clicking on College Students >> Find Online Services to Use from Home >> Databases

History Databases

Searching History Databases

Linked below are two databases that are great sources to search for articles on historical figures or events. See also the search tips below to see how to limit your search to relevant content.

U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.
History Study Center (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary sources covering global history from ancient times to the present day. Study Units offer editorially selected material on over 500 historical topics. Over 40,000 documents, articles, images and links to websites.

Search Tips: Browsing Topics

African American Perspectives

In U.S. History in Context, linked above, you can browse or search for information on historical issues and eras.

Under Browse, select "African American Perspectives" to see the articles in this collection.

(click on image to enlarge)

Reference Databases

Search for Background Info

Use Reference Articles from Library History and Reference Databases to get to know your topic or historical era.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College
Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference entries, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, podcasts, and images covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers.

Streaming Documentary Films

Streaming Film

Films on Demand is an online streaming video service for educational films. As a GRC student, you have unlimited access from campus or from home. Check out the documentary linked elow or click directly on the Films on Demand database link to search for many other titles.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for films on many topics, such as Anthropology, Biology, Business & Economics, Careers, and many more.

(click on image to enlarge)

TED Talks: Slavery
A playlist from TED
TED Talks:The Atlantic Slave: What Too Few Textbooks Told you
From TED Ed
The Age of Slavery (1800-1860): The African Americans—Many Rivers to Cross
Streaming video available from Films on Demand
more...less...
This film illustrates how black lives changed dramatically in the aftermath of the American Revolution. For free black people, these years were a time of opportunity, but for most African Americans, the era represented a new nadir. King Cotton fueled the rapid expansion of slavery into new territories and the forcible relocation of African Americans to the Deep South. Yet as slavery intensified, so did resistance. From individual acts to mass rebellions, African Americans demonstrated their determination to undermine and ultimately eradicate slavery.