Skip to main content

READ 104 Reading Mastery (Rosemond): Day 3: Humanities

This guide is here to assist students in Harry Rosemond's READ104 class

Your Assignment

Select one of the following that you have seen/read/listened to:

  • movie
  • music CD
  • television show
  • book
  • play/musical
  • dance performance
  • art exhibit

Locate a review of your selection using the periodical database ProQuest and answer the questions on your assignment sheet about your review.

Need a copy of the assignment?

Click on the document below to download a copy of the assignment

Types of Periodicals

Different types of periodicals give you different flavors of the information you need:

But wait! What's a periodical anyway?

A periodical is defined as "a magazine or newspaper published at regular intervals" and includes publication types such as these: "journal, publication, magazine, newspaper, review, digest, gazette, newsletter, organ, quarterly, annual, weekly" etc.

Here are some more examples:

SCHOLARLY or PEER-REVIEWED or ACADEMIC JOURNAL articles are good to find results of scientific or academic research.  They are written for scholars and provide in-depth analysis of a very specific area of your topic  

TRADE JOURNAL articles are good for finding articles written for specific professions (police officer, veterinarian...etc.)  They often analyze new trends, research, tools or techniques important to their area of work 


POPULAR MAGAZINE articles are good for summarizing information on a topic for the general public.  They often provide a background, summarize research findings, and provide some analysis of a topic 


NEWSPAPER articles are good for facts and up-to-date information.  They often provide little analysis of a topic.

Is it a "good" article for your research? EVALUATE IT!

Pick a Periodical

Types of Articles

Many different types of articles can be found in periodicals. Most periodical databases allow you to limit your search to a particular type of article (or Document Type) such as:

  • Conference paper
  • Editorial
  • Cover Story
  • Fiction
  • Interview
  • Letter to the Editor
  • Review
  • Feature
  • Transcript
  • Statistics/Data report

and many more...

Using Periodicals Databases for Research

Photo collage representing literature, music, film and art

Periodical Databases help you find journal, magazine and newspapers articles that are often not freely available on the internet. You can use a periodical database to find articles on a variety of topics including many disciplines within the humanities such as:

  • Film
  • Theater
  • Television
  • Dance
  • Music
  • Literature
  • Fine Arts

Using ProQuest to Find a Review

To search, type in the name the book/play/movie/exhibit/television show/CD for which you'd like to find a review.

Tips:

  • use Advanced Search for additional search options
  • you can add additional words or phrases to narrow your search if you get too many results
  • when searching for titles (of movies, books, etc) use quotation marks 
  • don't forget to check the Full Text box!

Image of ProQuest Advanced Search Box indicating where to enter search terms, limiting to full text and selecting document type: review

In ProQuest you can limit results by specific types of sources (magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals etc.) and you can limit by type of document (like reviews!) To limit your results to only reviews, scroll down to Document Type and check the box next to Review. 

In ProQuest, full text articles can be often be view in two different formats:

1 Full text: the entire text of the article reformatted to be read easily on a computer

2 Full text PDF: a PDF scan of the article from the original periodical, the article will look like it was photocopied from a magazine/newspaper

Format Matters

Information sources (including periodicals!) come in many different formats, make sure you're choosing the best one for the job!

Research 101 is a project from the University of Washington Libraries. It encourages students to understand the academic research process.

Humanities

Humanities Disciplines

Books about the Humanities