Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMST 230 Small Group Communication: Finding Resources

This guide will assist students in CMST 230 with their research assignments.

Holman Library Primo One Search

Holman Library logo

Use Holman Library One Search to:
  • Search for books, CDs, videos and articles in Holman Library
  • Get an overview of information on a subject
  • Track down citations
Sample Search:

This sample search of "green tea" in the image below found over 79,508 books, articles, videos.

  • Use "Advanced Search" to add additional search options.
  • The "Filter My Results" options on the left let you sort by type (books, videos, articles), location (library items), and date. 

(click on image to enlarge)

Primo One Search on 'green tea'

Locating Reputable Library Sources

Finding reliable sources

collection of images, writing, music notes, film reel, an artist

Periodical Databases and the Library Collections can help you find reliable, useful sources that are often not freely available on the internet.
  • You can use a periodical database to find journal, magazine and newspapers articles on a variety of topics in the Humanities, and the Holman Library One Search to locate books, ebooks, and films on topics such a the following:

Film | Theater | Television |  Dance | Music | Literature | Fine Arts 

Advanced Google Searching: Be a power searcher

Advanced Google Searching

Use Google Advanced Search for power searching on the general web

Note your ability to limit to one particular domain (.gov, .edu, .org):

(Click on image to enlarge)

Image of Google Advanced Search page

Literary Criticism Database

Using Gale Literature

Search for critical analysis of novels, plays and poetry in the literary criticism database Gale Literature

Gale Literature has a range of information on literature. You can find author interviews, author and work overviews, reviews, critical biographies and scholarly literary criticism. I suggest starting with a topic overview or biography.

Search Tips

There are a few ways to search in this database. Notice the image below showing the advanced search box. Each box allows you to search a different piece of information, such as the name of the work, the author, and more.

In the search below, the title of the work and then author are searched.

Notice also that you can limit to full-text articles. You can also choose to filter your results to one of the collections of criticism housed in this database.

(click on image to enlarge)

advanced search page showing how to search by title and author


Search Results

Shown below are the results of a search for "The Yellow Wallpaper (short story)" as the 'name of the work' field, AND "Gilman, Charlotte Perkins" in the 'at or about' field

  • On the right of the search results you can see a few ways to filter your results. You can limit by document type, by full-text, and more. 
  • Use the "search within" option on the right to search for keywords within the text of the articles shown in the results.

(click on image to enlarge)

search results showing ways to further limit using the built in tools to the left of the results.

GVRL

Encyclopedia of Popular Culture

Use Gale Virtual Reference Library to find overviews and articles from encyclopedias on many different subjects on literary themes, authors, or popular culture and history in context related to your work of literature.

What about WEBSITES?

Researching a less traditional art form? (sand castles, tattoos, cake decorating, etc...) Find information through:

  • Professional organizations
  • Local, national & international competitions
  • Exhibits

Many websites can be trusted to provide reliable information. However, before using any website, you should evaluate it to ensure that you trust it.

Some useful websites include:               

King County Library System (KCLS) Resources

Accessing the KCLS Library System

As a student at Green River College, you automatically have access to online library resources at King County Library System. 
King County Library System logo
Use the link below to find relevant supplemental resources on your topic!
  • To Log in: use GRC + your student username. (The part before the @ in your GRC email address.)
  • Example OLD email: GRCjsmith23
  • Example NEW email: GRCsmith.jane.23
  • PIN number: your pin is the last four characters of your log in. Example: e.23