LibGuides: Template: ENGL 127 Research Writing: Social Science: Find Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Using periodicals - what are they good for?

Why Use Magazines?
Why Use Newspapers?

Why Use Magazines?

Mother Jones cover

(image citation below)

When you search the library's periodical databases, most articles in your results are either from a newspaper, magazine, or journal.

A magazine article is a great source of information and analysis on current events and issues.
Magazines may offer opinion.
Most magazine articles are written by journalists for a general adult audience.
They tend to be longer and more substantive than newspaper articles, but more accessible than scholarly articles.

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Use limiters to select magazines.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Use limiters to find magazines.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Search over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Database Tutorial: Academic OneFile Advanced Search(Gale)

Suggested Magazines

Atlantic Monthly
Online & in-print | Library periodical collection (2nd floor) or in Academic Search Complete database or ProQuest database
The Economist
Library periodical collection (2nd floor), ProQuest database
Harpers
Library periodical collection (2nd floor), Academic Search Complete database, ProQuest database, online archive
Mother Jones
library periodical collection (2nd floor), Academic Search Complete database, ProQuest database
Newsweek
library periodical collection (2nd floor), Academic Search Complete database, ProQuest database, online
Time (magazine)
library periodical collection (2nd floor), Academic Search Complete database, online
The New Yorker
library periodical collection (2nd floor), ProQuest database, online

Image source: "Cover image for November/December 2013." 2013. MotherJones.com, Mother Jones and the Foundation for National Progress., 2013, www.motherjones.com/mag/2013/11/toc/. Accessed 3 Oct. 2020.

Use the database to help you. You can:

Connect keywords
Limit to a source type
Limit to a publication
Set a date range
Find additional relevant keywords and subject terms
Read abstracts
Find a range of relevant sources

Why Use Newspapers?

newspapers

(image citation below)

Newspaper articles provide us with a daily snapshot of current events and issues.
Read newspaper articles for news and analysis of current and past international, national and local issues.
Newspapers also give us insight into opinion on what's happening in the world.
Read editorials, op-eds, and opinion pieces to learn about viewpoints on current and past international, national and local issues.

Image source: Sollok29. News-media-standards.jpg. 8 Apr. 2016. Wikimedia Commons, commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/ File:News-media-standards.jpg.

Newspapers -- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window National and Washington newspapers. To see included titles, enter the database, click on the Databases Selected; link at the top left, scroll down to ProQuest Newspapers and click on View Titles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Limit to Newspapers
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Search over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Database Tutorial: Academic OneFile Advanced Search(Gale)

Alternative News Media

You can also go directly to the alternative press:

Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.

Suggested Newspapers

The New York Times (website)
Check out the day's news and issues in the online NY Times. Free online access is limited, Full text is available in the library's ProQuest database.
The Columbian Newspaper
The Seattle Times
Washington state's largest circulating newspaper. Print editions available in Holman Library
The Times of London
The Times of India

Search Google News for current and archived headlines from around the world.

Google News
Use Google News to find general news stories from current papers, magazines, and websites.
more...less...
Be aware some items may require a personal subscription to read (but can be requested by students through Interlibrary Loan).

For more on newspapers, you can link to the Holman Library Newspaper Subject Guide.

Research Guide: Newspapers
by Marji MacKenzie Last Updated Apr 10, 2024 132 views this year

Go straight to the alternative press

Search within the alternative press

Tip: To limit your search to only magazine articles or only new articles: click the "More Search Options" tab near the bottom of the screen. Select magazines and/or newspapers at "Publication Type."
To find more substantial news articles, try limiting to Feature at "Document Type."

Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Alt-Press Watch & Ethnic NewsWatch: Want to read articles from the alternative press? Try this database that delivers news and views from alternative sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window

Additional News Sources

One Search

While you cannot limit to Magazines from One Search, it is a useful way to search across multiple news databases.

Local news

Finding Local Mainstream Print News

The Seattle Times
Washington state's largest circulating newspaper. Print editions available in Holman Library
The News Tribune
Tacoma and regional newspaper, with local and national news section.
The Seattle PI.com
Online newspaper with archival access to P-I in print prior to March 2009.
Auburn Reporter
Published on Fridays, The Reporter covers top issues and interesting people in the community in Auburn, WA.
The Enumclaw Courier-Herald
Enumclaw and area news, events & opinion
Kent Reporter
Puget Sound Business Journal
Get news on regional businesses, the economy, and the environment. Some content is freely available online.

Local Alternative & Independent Newspapers

See what's happening locally and how different communities talk about themselves and their issues in the pages of these alternative publications.

The Stranger
Alternative news, opinion, culture and entertainment weekly
Seattle Weekly
Weekly news, opinion and entertainment paper
Seattle Gay News
Local, national and international GLBTQ news
Seattle Chinese Times
Bilingual Chinese/ English news and entertainment weekly for the Chinese and Chinese American community
Northwest Asian Weekly
Washington and the Northwest's only English language Asian American paper
The Skanner
The Skanner is an independent website and newspaper published for the Northwest's African American communities.
Real Change News
"Real Change exists to create opportunity and a voice for low-income people while taking action to end homelessness and poverty."
Puget Sound Business Journal
Get news on regional businesses, the economy, and the environment. Some content is freely available online.
The Rocket
Newspaper covering rock music in Seattle. Issues from 1979 - 2000 available online.
South Seattle Emerald Newspaper