Green River LibGuides: ENGL 127 Research Writing: Social Sciences (Bahl): Education Databases, News, Organizations & Government Sources

Education Database

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. Includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

What Works Clearinghouse
The What Works Clearinghouse is an investment of the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) within the U.S. Department of Education.

Organizations

Hope4College
The Hope Center for College, Community, and Justice is redefining what it means to be a student-ready college, with a national movement centering #RealCollege students’ basic needs. Food, affordable housing, transportation, childcare, and mental health are central conditions for learning. Without those needs met, far too many students leave college in debt and without degrees.
Achieving the Dream: Resources
Achieving the Dream is committed to creating, developing, and sharing resources for the student success movement. Access to effective and timely research, examples, and advice is a vital component of reform work. These tools are valuable for anyone interested in improving the success rates of community college students, with a particular focus on low-income students and students of color.
Center for Urban Education
OUR MISSION
Since its founding in 1999, the USC Rossier Center for Urban Education (CUE) has worked to bring equity-mindedness to institutions of higher education through socially conscious research, tools and learning institutes. CUE empowers practitioners to act as agents of change, enabling them to be critically race conscious as they respond to changing demographics in our educational systems.
Center for the Study of Race and Equity in Education
AACU Diversity, Equity, and Inclusive Excellence
Cities of Peace: Trauma Informed Critical Pedagogies
The Education Trust
"The Education Trust is a nonprofit organization that promotes closing opportunity gaps by expanding excellence and equity in education for students of color and those from low-income families from pre-kindergarten through college."
The Policy Center at American Institutes for Research
Education
Increasing the effectiveness of education
AIR is committed to increasing the effectiveness of education at all levels through rigorous research and evaluation, training, and technical assistance. Our work spans the learning lifespan—from pre-K to postsecondary education, career readiness, and adult education—and focuses on a wide range of topics, including STEM, social and emotional learning, and state and federal education policies.
Brookings Institute: Education
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level.
Learning Policy Institute
The Learning Policy Institute conducts and communicates independent, high-quality research to improve education policy and practice. Working with policymakers, researchers, educators, community groups, and others, the Institute seeks to advance evidence-based policies that support empowering and equitable learning for each and every child.

Education Statistics

National Center for Education Statistics
Number one stop for educational statistics! Compiles stats from early childhood education through post-secondary education. Enter search terms in box in upper right hand corner to locate information.
National Center for Education Statistics: International Activities Program
Provides "statistical data for cross-national comparisons of education."
U.S. Department of Education
Research, statistics, news, policy, and more information on education in the United States.
U.S. Department of Education: Americans with Disabilities Act
U.S. Department of Education: Disability Discrimination - Overview of the Laws
US Census Data: Education
The Census Bureau provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school costs and financing.

Advanced Google Searching: Be a power searcher!

Advanced Google Searching

Use Google Advanced Search for power searching on the general web

Note your ability to limit to one particular domain (.gov, .edu, .org):

Google Advanced Search
Use this search to help you limit by resource, date and more. Find specific types of websites, such as those created for academic purposes (.edu) or government (.gov).

(Click on image to enlarge)

Education News/ Professional Publications

Chronicle of Higher Education
Publishes news, commentary and job openings in higher education. Updated daily. Log in using your faculty or student info, or create a personal account on chronicle.com using your GRC email address and then use your personal username and password for access from anywhere!

Inside Higher Ed
Find news and opinion pieces on the state of higher education in the United States.
Diverse Issues in Higher Education
Online News source: Our mission is to provide our audience information that is honest, thorough and balanced. Diverse seeks to be a catalyst for change, and our ultimate objective is to contribute to the building of educational, cultural, social and economic structures that will allow every individual to achieve his or her full human potential and contribute to the greater good of the community and the nation.

ASPECT: Source Evaluation

Evaluating Your Resources

How can you determine if you have a "good" website? Assess every ASPECT!

A: Authority

Can you locate author’s credentials?
Evidence of author expertise in subject?
Similar works by this author?
Personal recommendations for this author?
Publisher’s credentials and reputation?
Similar works from this publisher?
Is there an author’s name?

S: Sources

Is information presented as fact? If yes:
Does the author provide documentation? (Bibliography, Footnotes, etc.)
If documentation/sources are included, are they from credible sources?

P: Purpose

Was this source written to inform and educate?
Does the source argue a perspective or specific opinion?
Is the source intended to entertain? To sell?
Is the content aimed at a general audience, or is it written for readers with expertise in the subject?
Is the source too basic, too technical, too advanced?
Is the source just right for your research needs?

E: Evenness

Does the author recognize other points of view?
Is the information presented objective?
If the source is biased, does the author acknowledge the bias?

C: Coverage

Is the information new? Does it support what you have found in other sources?
Is the source comprehensive or inclusive enough for your needs?
Does this source provide information that is relevant to your needs?

T: Timeliness

When was the source published?
Is the date appropriate for your topic?