Nursing

This is a guide for GRC's nursing students.

Before you search...

Find Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles and Research Studies

Holman Library One Search

Selected Health Science Databases

Complete List of Health Science Databases

List of Individual Nursing Journals

Clinical Guidelines

Google Scholar: Journal Article Searching on the Free Web

  • Google Scholar has no peer-reviewed limiter.  You can do an internet search on the journal's name and find if it is peer-reviewed (will usually indicate in the "about" section of the journal website)
  • You can also copy and paste the search below to help limit your results to research articles (but you will still need to determine if the journal is peer-reviewed):

    your topic "controlled trial" OR "clinical trial" OR "systematic review" OR "meta-analysis" OR “cohort study” OR “longitudinal study” OR “case control” OR “retrospective study” OR “cross-sectional”

    example to put in search box:
    fibromyalgia meditation "controlled trial" OR "clinical trial" OR "systematic review" OR "meta-analysis" OR “cohort study” OR “longitudinal study” OR “case control” OR “retrospective study” OR “cross-sectional”

ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE ASSISTED RESEARCH TOOLS

Specific to BSN students: Find Different Research Study Types

Why use MeSH Subject Headings?

There are many ways to refer to one medical concept.  MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) help you find the standard, preferred search words that most databases use to describe concepts.  Using MeSH search words helps you improve your searches.

For example:

1. Click on the link below:

2. In the search box type: hand washing

3. You will see that hand disinfection is the standard, preferred search word

4. Using this search word specifically as a "subject heading" (not just as a simple search word) will automatically capture all the related words to hand disinfection in your search, such as hand washing, surgical scrubbing, hand sanitation...etc.

How to use MeSH Subject Headings in the PubMed database

How to use MeSH Subject Headings in the CINAHL database

Source: "Using the CINAHL/MeSH Headings Feature in EBSCOhost" by EBSCO Tutorials, is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

Learn how to search using the CINAHL/MeSH subject headings feature in order to find more relevant articles.
The LibKey Nomad browser extension gives you fast, one-click access to scholarly articles available from Holman Library wherever you are searching on the web.

Example from Wikipedia:

AFTER, when you search the web, look for the green flame icon and click to download full text of scholarly articles from the Holman Library wherever you search on the web. “Download PDF” and “Article Link” take you to full text of article. “Access Options” takes you to an option to request article through Interlibrary Loan

Can't Find the Full Text of an Article?

  • Sometimes you will come across an article citation (that only shows title, author, date..etc.) but that does NOT show you the actual full text of the article.

  • No problem! You can request the full-text using InterLibrary Loan (or ILL) service. It's free!

  • To request an item, fill out the Student Interlibrary Loan form below

Try It!

  1. Choose one scenario below

Scenario A: 

What are some nursing considerations for elderly patients who receive the flu vaccine?

Scenario B 

How might nurses help with the depression that often affects stroke patients?

Scenario C:

What should nurses be aware of when treating veterans with PTSD?

Scenario D:

Create your own scenario!
 

  1. Click on either one of the databases on this page: CINAHL with Full Text OR Health and Medicine Collection Proquest

*Note: for your nursing assignments you may actually have to search several databases to find what you need

  1. First, type your search into the advanced search boxes in the database

*Note: In the last box, type: nurs* and then select Publication Name OR Publication Title in the drop-down box on the far right

Then, limit your search results to the following:

  • full text

  • publication date within the last five years

  • "peer-reviewed" or "academic journal" (to limit to scholarly journals)

  1. Click "search" to find results based on your search words and limiters

  2. Then, confirm that the article is scholarly:

Video: How Library Stuff Works: Scholarly vs Popular Sources

Source: "How Library Stuff Works: Scholarly vs. Popular Sources" by McMaster Libraries, is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

Learn about the differences between scholarly and popular sources and how to identify them when researching your topic.
Subjects: Health Sciences