LibGuides: Library Research: A Step-By-Step Guide: 1e. Find Background Info

Starting with background info

Why Start with Background Information?

An overview of your broad topic area helps you "explore the conversation" by looking at different viewpoint from a non-judgmental standpoint. You can learn the following:

what the key issues are and how you may want to refine your topic
who are the stakeholders (the groups or individuals this topic concerns)
a context of how your topic relates to the other issues that surround it
a historical perspective on your topic
specialized vocabulary or search words that are used in your field (you will use these words for searches later in your research process)

Searching and using reference books

How to Use a Reference Article Effectively

First, find important words or concepts (see highlighted words in image below)
Then use those as search words to find other books, journals, videos and websites

(Click to enlarge the image below)

Reference Books Through Google Books

First, click on the image below for tips on finding reference books (encyclopedias and handbooks) through Google Books

(Click to enlarge the image below)

Then, click below to perform your search.

Google Books Advanced Search

How to Effectively Read a Reference Article

Highlight Key Concepts

First, find important words or concepts (see highlighted words in example below)
Then use those as search words to find other books, journals, videos and websites

(Click to enlarge the image below)

Digital reference books

Digital Reference Books Online

Click the the library database links below to access digital reference books and subject encyclopedias
First, try a broad search on your topic, such as:
-genetically modified foods
-biotech foods
Then try narrower searches such as:
-genetically modified foods nutrition
-genetically modified foods famine
-genetically modified foods economic development

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Browse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text viewpoint essays, topic overviews, journal articles, news, and statistics. A great place to find evidence to support argumentative essays.
U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles featuring global viewpoints on international issues, country reports, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and more
Environmental Studies in Context - GREENR (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
Science In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers in addition to experiments and projects. Includes images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.