LibGuides: Film, Television, and Popular Culture Studies: Find Articles

Library databases for finding film-related articles

Searching Communication, Film, Media & Pop Culture Scholarly Articles

Try the following library databases to find articles related to your films. Articles from these databases will include film reviews, interviews, scholarly film criticism, and more.

Try limiting to magazines only or to feature articles to find substantial reviews and analysis from the popular press. Publications such as the New Yorker or the NY Times may be good places to look.
To find the scholarly conversation on film, limit your search to scholarly peer-reviewed sources.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and abstracts for communication journals covering all related disciplines including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.

General Article Databases (scholarly and popular)

These collections contain both academic peer-reviewed journals and more popular features, articles, news, and criticism (such as commercial film reviews, popular media commentary, opinion, and so on).

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search all Gale databases with a single search
Database Tutorial: Gale Basic Search & Topic Finder
Database Tutorial: Gale Academic OneFile Advanced Search

Literary, Pop Culture, and Film Criticism

This collection contains academic criticism essays, overviews of fiction and popular culture/film works, and academic reviews.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search for literary work overviews and author biographies plus scholarly literary criticism and analysis of authors and their works - novels, short stories, poetry, and drama including Shakespeare plays.

Even more Databases

Also try the Holman Library One Search and the library's complete list of databases for other search options. Limit to scholarly peer-reviewed journals to find scholarly articles.

Holman Library One Search (All Library Resources)
Search this catalog to find books, ebooks, films, as well as articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more.
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search
Holman Library Databases by Name
See all of the library's database collections, sorted alphabetically by title. You will need to use your Student ID to log in from off-campus.

Scholarly film and television journals by title

Journals for Film Studies

Here's a list of some of the library's Film Studies journals.

[in]Transition
An open-access peer-reviewed academic journal of videographic film and moving image studies from the Society for Cinema and Media Studies.
Afterimage
"The Journal of Media Arts and Cultural Criticism is a publication of the Visual Studies Workshop, a non-profit media arts center located in Rochester, New York."
Camera Obscura
"Since its inception, Camera Obscura has devoted itself to providing innovative feminist perspectives on film, television, and visual media. It consistently combines excellence in scholarship with imaginative presentation and a willingness to lead media studies in new directions."
Cinema journal
"Devoted to the scholarly study of film, television, video, and new media."
Cinéaste
"America's leading magazine on the art and politics of the cinema."
Film & History
"...the journal offers insightful reviews of books and films and a Featured Section of articles that looks closely at one significant topic. The journal is affiliated with the American Historical Association and operates under the direction of the Center for the Study of Film and History, currently housed at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh."
Film Criticism
Publishes articles by "film historican, theorists, and critics representing many different disciplines, cultures, and critical perspectives."
Film-Philosophy
Film-Philosophy is an international journal dedicated to philosophically reviewing film studies, philosophical aesthetics, and world cinema. A substantial resource for both students and researchers, Film-Philosophy offers scholarly articles, a discussion forum and a gateway to the best of the Web for Film and Cultural Studies in general.

Available online, issues from 1997 to present via Open Humanities Press
Journal of Popular Film and Television
...uses "the methods of popular culture studies to examine commercial film and television, historical and contemporary. Articles discuss networks, genres, series, and audiences, as well as celebrity stars, directors, and studios. Regular features include essays on the social and cultural background of films and television programs, filmographies, bibliographies, and commissioned book and video reviews."
Senses of cinema
Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema. We believe cinema is an art that can take many forms, from the industrially-produced blockbuster to the hand-crafted experimental work; we also aim to encourage awareness of the histories of such diverse forms. As an Australian-based journal, we have a special commitment to the regular, wide-ranging analysis and critique of Australian cinema, past and present. http://www.sensesofcinem

Current Articles from Academic Search Complete

Here is a current list of articles from Ebsco's Academic Search Complete found using the subject term: FILM adaptations.

Film, Television, and Popular Culture Studies