A Bibliography is a list of the sources you used to research your paper. It includes the works you cited in the text of your paper, as well as materials you read as background to understand your topic. Your bibliography includes the books; journal, magazine, newspaper and reference articles; images; websites; and other sources you used. Bibliographies follow different formats, the most common of which are MLA and APA. MLA is the preferred format for this class.
An Annotated Bibliography includes an annotation with the basic bibliographic information (citation) for each resource. For this class your annotation should provide the following information in 3-4 sentences:
Annotations are written in paragraph form. Please keep in mind that all your text, including the paragraph beneath the citation, must be indented so that the author's last name is the only text that is flush left.
Taylor, Lou. “Dress.” New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne C. Horowitz, Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2005, pp. 596-605.
The annotation above: summarizes key points from the article, mentions that it provides an overview and is from a reference source, makes the argument that the article offers useful analysis, and reflects on its role in the student project. It does not address every single point in the evaluation rubric.
There is not one way to write an annotation; your annotation will express your understanding of a text and its role in your research. Please note that your assignment asks for only a 1-2 sentence summary.