Just as you would always provide in-text citation information for copied text, you must for images and photographs!

According to the MLA Handbook, images within a research paper "should be labeled Figure (usually abbreviated Fig.), assigned an arabic numeral, and given a caption."

Example:

 Fig 1. Northampton Museums. Shoe: Platform Sandal. Sept. 30, 2009. Northampton, UK. Northampton Museum's Photostream, Flickr, https://www.flickr.com/photos/northampton_museum/albums/72157637842962863. Accessed Jan 2012.  

In your Works Cited, you'll want to include as much of the information below as you can find:

• Artist’s name or username, surname first
• Title of the work, in italics
• Date of creation
• Institution or city in in which the work is located
• Website or database, in italics
• URL if the image may not persist
• Date of access

The citation will typically look like this:

Artist or user name.  Title.  Date the image was created.  Museum, City.  Database name or title of site.  URL Date of access.

Information above used with permission from the Colgate Visual Resources Library

Thanks to Sarah Christensen, Visual Resources Curator at the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana and Jesse Hendersen, Visual Resources Curator at Colgate University, for graciously allowing me to copy text and other information from their library web pages.

Learn more from their sites:

Using Flickr Commons

"The key goals of The Commons on Flickr are to firstly show you hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives, and secondly to show how your input and knowledge can help make these collections even richer."

 Google Images is a great tool to see the work of many photographers. For your presentations, however, the images may not be high enough resolution to project well. It's possible to find useful images with introductory information, and you can even use the advanced settings to limit to works that are in the public domain

NYPL digital collections

The New York Public Library has a great digital collection of photographs, fashion plates, and memorabiia. It's not exhaustive, but there are some interesting historic images in here. You can search or browse the collection.

Wikimedia Commons Images

Wikimedia Commons contains, according to the site, a collection of over 58 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute."Files include images, audio, video, animations, maps, and other multimedia. Users can choose from multiple images sizes when downloading, and each image is often accompanied by information about the work depicted as well as copyright information.

Image Source: "PNG logo with text" by Wikimedia Foundation is licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0