Use the Library Reference Collection to Explore Topic Ideas

Reference, or Subject Encyclopedias, are a good place to:

• browse for and explore topic ideas
• find a narrower focus from a broad starting topic
  • For example, if I start out with an interest in Global Warming, the library's online encyclopedia database suggests narrower subject terms, returns articles that focus on narrower aspects of my broad topic, and returns general overview articles I can skim to get ideas on how to focus.  

Once you start to learn about your topic, you will use reference sources to get informed about the basics. 

Strategy I: Use Gale eBooks/ GVRL to narrow a broad starting idea

Step 1: Type in your Starting Idea

(for example, Global Warming) 

Step 2:

Scroll through the list of article titles to gather ideas about global warming you could research. Also look at the title of the encyclopedia the article is from. That gives you a sense of its disciplinary perspective (for ex., psychology, geography, politics, etc.). 

Step 3:

Click on the filter for Subjects for a list of Subtopics 

Step 4:

Skim through a relevant-looking article for ideas on how to narrow and focus. The excerpt below is from the start of an article on Renewable Energy. Possible subtopics include solar or wind energy and coal production.

II: Use Gale eBooks Reference to Explore Topic Ideas by Subject and Encyclopedia: 

Step 1: Click on the link below to explore Gale eBooks by Subject area.

Step 2:

Click on an area of interest (click on image to enlarge)

Step 3:

Click on a title that interests you and browse the index for ideas. Click on interesting subtopics to dig deeper and explore ideas.

The image below is of a search of the Social Science Collection. I clicked on the title Inequality in America: Causes and Consequences.

(click on image to enlarge)

Explore Current News & Culture Media for Ideas

In library news databases:

In Online Soures

Explore the Debate on Current Issues

Current Issues Databases

Look for Ideas & Arguments in Holman Library Current Issues Databases and in the News.

Viewpoints in Gale In Context Databases

In Gale In Context Databases (Opposing Viewpoints, Global Viewpoints, and Environmental Issues) explore VIEWPOINT essays for topic ideas from a range of perspectives.

• The image below indicates there are 17 Featured Viewpoints and 159 Viewpoints in total on Universal Health Care.

Click on the image to enlarge.

Pro/ Con in CQ Researcher

In CQ Research look for the Pro/ Con section for a mini debate on an issue central to that report.

click on image to enlarge

Newspaper Editorials & Opinions

Explore editorials, opinion, and commentary in the news. To find these sources, at Document Type, select Editorial, Opinion, Commentary. 

click on image to enlarge