Green River LibGuides: BTAC 100: Fundamentals of Computers: Step 3: Find the Facts

Use Library Resources to Find the Facts & some Opinion

Holman Library One Search (Advanced Search)
Use the advanced search options to select source type (books, videos, scholarly peer-reviewed articles), online format, date ranges and more .
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

Holman Library One Search

Use One Search to search for your sources across all of our databases at once!

IMPORTANT: Use limiters from the menu to choose by source type, date, and more.

Sample search of "online retail" OR e-commerce AND privacy:

STEP 1: Type in keywords

(click on image to enlarge)

privacy AND online shopping OR e-commerce

STEP 2: Use limiters to refine your search

To start with, try limiting to Reference. Reference sources can provide a factual overview of a topic, help you identify key issues and debates - without taking a stand on them, identify key terminology, and offer leads to additional resources on the topic.
To dig deeper and learn more, look to other source types, such as magazine articles, scholarship, book chapters, and more.

(click on image to enlarge)

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Supports research in key business areas such as accounting, finance, management, and marketing with peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, company profiles, industry reports, and news.
Business Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search ABI/INFORM, The Wall Street Journal and ProQuest business journals in one search.
Newspapers -- Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search several hundred U.S. and International newspapers as well as regional business publications, providing more than 60 million full text articles.

Search Tips for Business News & Analysis Databases

Learn about your issue from current news and industry sources!

For news, limit to magazines and newspapers
For professional perspectives, limit to trade (there's some overlap with magazines)
For opinion, select Opinion or Commentary or Editorial at Document Type.

See the example below for a search in Business Source Complete.

Note: For this search I limited to within the past five years and full text only. I can still limit to specific source types.
Note: To get an overview of what an article is about, click on the title and read the abstract, which is a summary and overview of the source.

(click on image to enlarge)

Excerpt from the second result, the magazine article "Personalization, Privacy, and the Problem of Oversharing"

(click on image to enlarge)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text viewpoint essays, topic overviews, journal articles, news, and statistics. A great place to find evidence to support argumentative essays.
Science In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers in addition to experiments and projects. Includes images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Browse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.

Find Facts and Learn about the Debates

Sample in CQ Researcher.

Browse or Search for relevant reports. The images below show how to browse from science & technology > computers and the internet.

The second image shows the start to the article on Net Neutrality.

(Click on images to enlarge)

Using Different Types of Sources

Use different information resources to find different kinds of information.

Reference book articles, or academic encyclopedias, are a great place to start. Go to reference for background knowledge, theoretical terms, an overview of the history of a subject or issues, key players - and leads to more information.

example of sources
Reference book articles, or academic encyclopedias, are a great place to start. Read reference for: background knowledge theoretical terms an overview of the history of a subject or issues key players leads to more information.
Read books, book chapters, and essays in anthologies for: in-depth analysis history opinion theory multiple perspectives
Read newspaper articles for: a daily account of events and issues on a local, regional, national or international scale analysis of current issues editorial and opinion pieces business, environment and science news
Read magazine articles for: more in-depth discussion of current events and issues in the news longer articles written for an interested audience in lay-person language on technology, health, science, business and more illustrations: charts, pictures and graphs
View and listen to multimedia for: documentaries on current science, engineering and business topics informed discussion and analysis case studies & personal accounts background information
Read trade articles to learn about: news briefs or overviews of current research and tools current trends and updates in the profession professional terminology opinion on governmental policy, current issues, and more professional development to find leads to more information on your subject
Read scholarly articles and books to learn about: current research in-depth analysis metareviews of the literature professional terminology find data, statistics, charts, and other factual information to get a sense of the scope of the scholarly conversation on your subject to find leads to more information on your subject