Green River LibGuides: ENGL 251: Asian American Literature: Historical Contexts

Sample Historical Contexts

The following is a partial list of topics on Asian American histories.

This list is not exhaustive. .

Immigration
Chinese Immigrants
Japanese Immigrants
Filipino Immigrants
Vietnamese Immigrants
Southeast Asian Immigrant
Yellow Peril
Chinese Exclusion Act
Japanese American Internment WWII
Communist Scare
Vietnam War
Vietnamese Refugees
Asian American Arts Renaissance

History & Biography Databases

U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.
U.S. History OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals and magazines covering US history from the earliest settlements to the 21st century.
History Study Center (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary sources covering global history from ancient times to the present day. Study Units offer editorially selected material on over 500 historical topics. Over 40,000 documents, articles, images and links to websites.
Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference entries, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, podcasts, and images covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers.

Other Historical Newspapers

Using Historical Newspapers

Washington State Historic Newspapers
Search Washington state newspapers, various dates between the 1850s to 1890s or browse topics.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Covers 1789-1922. Also contains a directory of publication information 1690-present. TIP: Limit by State as needed.
International Newspapers
Does not contain full text of newspapers but links to some collections and provides a listing of newspaper digitization efforts worldwide.
The Black Press Collective
Dedicated to archiving the Black Press to preserve the significance of the historical and contemporary role of black newspapers in Africa and the African Diasporas.

Historical Newspapers in Library Databases

Newspapers -- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration."

King County Library System (KCLS) - History Databases

Green River Students can freely use the KCLS libraries!

As a student at Green River College, you automatically have access to online library resources at King County Library System, including the history databases below.

Log in to KCLS Databases

To Log in: use GRC + your student username. (The part before the @ in your GRC email address.)
Example OLD email: GRCjsmith23
Example NEW email: GRCsmith.jane.23
PIN number: your pin is the last four characters of your log in. Example: e.23

History Databases

19th Century US Newspapers
Daily Life through History
Historical Statistics of the US (may open in some browsers and not others)
New York Times Historical

King County Library System (KCLS): College Student Accounts
Browse all KCLS databases by clicking on College Students >> Find Online Services to Use from Home >> Databases

Find Books for Context

Using Ebooks

Read a book or a book chapter to learn more about your topic. Books often include a broad overview and/or definition of a top, as well as more in-depth research.

You may limit to e-books when searching the main catalog, One Search, or search directly in our ebook collections linked below.

eBooks -- EBSCO Complete eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Academic and EBSCO Community College ebooks combined into one search
eBooks -- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 52,000 full-text online books for Green River College programs -- Aviation, Business, Computer Technologies, Criminal Justice, English, Humanities, Nursing & Allied Health, Social Sciences, Sciences, Wastewater Technology.