ENGL 101 English Composition 1

A collection of resources for assignments commonly seen in ENGL&101 at Green River College.

Reference Databases

Browse Topics in Reference Sources

Browse for topic ideas in library reference (academic encyclopedias) databases.

You may return here to find Background Information on your current topics

Example:

From Gale Ebooks, "Social Issues in America" is a great resource for this project! Articles range from ageism and domestic surveillance to voting and xenophobia. Articles are 7 or 8 pages long. Each provides an overview of the issue, a chronology, statistics, and more.  

Another consideration:

From Gale Ebooks, another great reference source for background information is the Information Plus Reference Series. The topic range is extensive, from Animal Rights to Water: a Global Perspective. Use the link below to access just this series.

Current Issues databases

Find Info on Current Issues

Browse for Topic Ideas in Holman Library current issues databases.

Return to these databases to gather background information and see what others argue.


You can:

  • Browse their topic lists for current debated topic ideas
  • Find reliable background information in reference sources on your selected topic
  • Learn about the issues raised by your topic
  • Learn about arguments from different perspectives on your topic
  • Find evidence to support your position

(click on image to enlarge)

database page showing to click on "broswe issues" from the menu near the top

CQ Researcher reports date as early as the 1920s. Be sure to check how current the info you find is! Even if a report is not current enough for your purposes, browsing topics is still useful for generating ideas. 

The Hot Topics list offers short reports on a range of subjects.

  • To find other short reports, select Advanced Search at the top of the screen and select Short Features as a limiter.

(click on image to enlarge)

 CQ Researcher database search page, pointing to the option to search by topic rather than just searching by a keyword. Here you can see a list of topics

Get an Overview of Library Resources with Holman Library Primo One Search

Browsing with One Search

Use One Search to find Books in Holman Library and for an overview of library resources on a subject.

  • Build your search slowly with multiple search terms. 
  • When relevant, use quotation marks to keep words together, as a phrase. Example: "affordable housing"

Note: Go to individual databases for magazines, more subject terms, up-to-date streaming video content, and more.

(click on image to enlarge)

advanced search boxes

When you see results, you may need to limit further. As shown in the image below...

  • use the limiters on the left to filter your results by source type, subject, date, language, and more.

(click on image to enlarge)

Affordable housing-results-list-primo

Browse Topics Online for Current Issues

Searching for Topics in the News

Newspapers are ripe with researchable topics! Headlines can generate topics or you can dig deeper for an issue that interests you.  Use the links below to find news articles to get ideas for topics.