LibGuides: ENGL 127 Research Writing: Social Sciences (Moreno): Find City Statistics

Places to look for reliable city demographic statistics

State and Country QuickFacts
"Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography" from the Census
First select your state from the map or the drop-down menu. Your state data will appear, and at the top of the page you can select your city from another drop-down
CensusScope Charts & Trends
Census trend charts including population growth, population by race, multiracial profiles, segregation, income, poverty, and more.
City Town Info
This site has demographic information as well as many other statistics on schools, attractions, climate, and much more.
From the home page, click the link for your state, then find your city name from the list that appears.
U.S. Census Bureau: International Programs - International Statistical Agencies
If you are working with an non-U.S. city, check this list of international statistical agencies to see there's one for your country.
To translate non-English web pages, look for a British or U.S. flag icon on the page.
U.S. Census Data
Search census data limiting by topic, geography, years and codes (replaces American FactFinder)
more...less...
The Census Bureau stopped releasing new data in American FactFinder (AFF) at the end of June 2019 and transitioned to data.census.gov for data releases formerly on AFF. AFF will remain as an archive system for data and functionality that are not yet available in data.census.gov until March 31, 2020. After March 31, 2020, our American FactFinder will be decommissioned and no longer available.
City Data
Stats about American cities: residents (race, income, ancestries, education, employment...), geographical data, state profiles, crime data, cost of living...etc. Careful - this site does not always list the sources of its data.
U.N. Demographic Yearbook
country info
U.S. Census Bureau: Index of Topics
Search for Census data alphabetically by topic
Social Explorer (free edition)
Use the Maps function to track demographic and other data visually on the United States map.

International Statistics

U.S. Census Bureau: International Programs - International Statistical Agencies
If you are working with an non-U.S. city, check this list of international statistical agencies to see there's one for your country.
To translate non-English web pages, look for a British or U.S. flag icon on the page.
U.S. Census Bureau: International Programs
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products. For over 60 years, the Census Bureau has performed international analytical work and assisted in the collection, processing, analysis, dissemination, and use of statistics with counterpart governments in over 100 countries.
UNdata
Searchable data from the UN. A very simple interface, but it can be tricky to find information from this source.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Statistics from around the world on topics such as literacy, science, education, etc. From a branch of the United Nations.
CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."

CultureGrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Cultural information, statistics, and reports on more than 200 countries and territories plus US states and Canadian provinces.

International Statistics by Topic
From Northwestern University. Includes topics such as crime, economics, education, employment, trade, environment, health...etc.
World Bank: Data on Countries and Economies
Statistics by topic and country, including world development indicators

Statistics in Library Reference Collection

Gale Virtual Reference Library in Holman Library contains the Information Plus Reference Series. Focused primarily, though not entirely, on domestic social issues, each report is chock full of statistical data.

Sometimes a national statistic can be a good point of comparison for helping you analyze your city.
Be sure to double check the date.

Information Plus Reference Series

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College

Where do good statistics come from?

Fig. 6. "census tabulator." Online Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica Online. April 2012.

Most statistics in our country come from data gathered by the United States government.

Many of the city-related statistics you will come across are generated by the Census. The complete Census is conducted every 10 years by the U.S. Census Bureau, and during the census, government workers walk around neighborhoods gathering data about household demographics like race, income, education level, and much more. Some census data is updated more frequently.

Statistics Research Guide

For links to many more statistical resources, check out this library research guide.

You can also ask a librarian for help.

Research Guide: Statistics
by Jennifer Rohan Last Updated Apr 10, 2024 70 views this year