LibGuides: ANTH 210 Indians of North America: Articles

Why Use Articles?

Why Use Articles?

Different types of articles give you different flavors of information:

Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed or Academic Journal articles are good to find results of scientific or academic research. They are written for scholars and provide in-depth analysis of a very specific area of your topic (more info...)
Trade Journal articles are good for finding articles written for specific professions (police officer, veterinarian...etc.) They often analyze new trends, research, tools or techniques important to their area of work (more info...)

Popular Magazine articles are good for summarizing information on a topic for the general public. They often provide a background, summarize research findings, and provide some analysis of a topic(more info...)
Newspaper articles are good for facts and up-to-date information. They often provide little analysis of a topic. (NOTE: For your Anthro 210 research project, newspapers are not acceptable.)
Evaluate articles to determine if they are credible sources for your research

Scholarly "Peer-Reviewed" Articles

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Find Articles in Databases

These ARTICLE DATABASES will help you find journal, magazine and newspapers articles that are often not freely accessible on the internet.

Holman Library Databases by Subject
See all of the library's database collections, sorted by subject area. This list is a good place to see the entire list of electronic article resources available in a specific field. You will need to log in with your GRC email address and password to access off-campus.

Find magazines, journals, newspapers in all academic disciplines
Type combinations of specific search words in the search boxes
You must check the "full text" option below the search boxes to find the full text of an article

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)

Find magazines, journals, newspapers in all academic disciplines
Type combinations of specific search words in the search boxes
You must check the "full tex" option below the search boxes to find the full text of an article

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search 2,000 full-text scholarly peer-reviewed journals in Science, Social Sciences, Humanities and Health Sciences

Find scholarly journal articles in all academic disciplines.
Works well for topics in literature, sociology and history
Type very specific (not broad!) search words in the search boxes

Example: Use check boxes on database search pages to limit your results to peer-reviewed journal articles

TIP

Can't find the full text of an article?

1. Note down the author, title of article, name of the magazine, journal or newspaper, and date of publication

2. Make an Interlibrary Loan Request so that the article can be sent to Green River's Holman Library
for you (note: this process may take 1-week)

3. Or Ask a Librarian for help!