LibGuides: ENGL 101 English Composition 1 (Frazier): Gather background information: Reference

Online library reference sources

Use the following online reference databases to find encyclopedia articles on science, nature and technology topics.

You can also BROWSE GVRL, and CQ

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Browse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.
Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference entries, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, podcasts, and images covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers.

The article above on biodiversity and climate change is from a subject encyclopedia in GVRL. It provides:

definitions
key concepts
key terminology - or keywords - I can use to search for additional information
discussion of the issues
and ideas for ways I could narrow and focus my topic (for example, I could research ocean extinctions, rather than all extinctions).

all in just the first two paragraphs!

What are keywords?

Keywords are the search terms you use to find information on your topic. You use keywords to search library tools or the web.

Keywords denote the core idea, concept, name or event you want to learn about.

Tips on using keywords:

Keywords can be single terms or simple phrases
Put phrases in quotes to search the words as a phrase:
- "climate change" or "global warming"
Keywords have both synonyms and related terms.
- For example, for global warming, you might also search: greenhouse emissions, carbon emissions, greenhouse effect, global warming AND environmental policy, or the Kyoto accord.
Combine keywords with Boolean operators "AND" and "OR" to get more relevant results.
Use "AND" to combine terms to focus your search (global warming AND developing nations)
Use "OR" to broaden your search with results from either (greenhouse emissions OR greenhouse effect).

Subject Terms are the keywords the library catalog and databases use to put articles on the same subject together. Use the subject terms you find in library databases for a more precise search vocabulary.
- Example: use "environmental policy" instead of "climate policy."

Start with reference articles from the library's print and digital collection:

Read reference articles to get the big picture on your topic.
Read reference articles to help you choose a specific aspect of your topic to research in depth.
Read reference articles to learn about the context, history, stakeholders and current issues on your specific research topic.
Read reference articles to find keywords to further research your topic.