LibGuides: ENGL 101 English Composition 1 (Frazier): Find Topic Ideas

Google Web Search

Suggested Databases

I suggest using the following databases to help you:

identify possible topics to write about this quarter
come up with ways to narrow and focus a very broad starting topic

Some of these databases will also help you start to map out the basic "Who, What, When, Where, Why and How" facts of your subject.

Environmental Studies in Context - GREENR (Gale) This link opens in a new window Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
Science In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers in addition to experiments and projects. Includes images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Browse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College
Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Full-text reference entries, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, podcasts, and images covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers.

Browse for Ideas - CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window

CQ Researcher reports are thoroughly researched and well thought-through discussions of contemporary issues, including science and technology.

Browsing for Ideas - GVRL

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window

Browse GVRL, Gale Virtual Reference Library, for topic ideas almost as you would a print encyclopedia. Click on the volume, select the index and look around for interesting ideas.

Alternatively, enter a broad topic area you are interested in and then use the subjects list on the right to narrow your focus, as in the image below.

On the Web

Browse web sites & podcasts

TED Talks
Talks that cover the gamut of current issues. Explore talks by Topic, including Science, Technology, and Business - Or search for a TED Taslk on a specific subject. Be sure to asses: Is the speaker an expert on this topic?
SciShow
Exploratorium
National Public Radio (NPR): All Tech Considered
National Public Radio journalism on current technology issues from scientific, political, and cultural perspectives
The Hidden Brain
Social science journalist Shankar Vedantam reports on human behavior and how current research in the social sciences helps us make sense.
How Stuff Works
National Public Radio (NPR): Environment
Living on Earth - PRI Podcast
"Living on Earth from PRX is a weekly broadcast-based public radio podcast, timing in at just over 50 minutes each week. The focus of this podcast is climate change and its effects on ecology and human health."
Science Friday
A science radio program/website from National Public Radio (with links to reliable source material).

Browsing for Ideas - Environmental Studies in Context

Searching for topics in Environmental Studies

Use the linked database below to find articles from a variety of sources on environmental issues - from air pollution to wind energy and more.

Environmental Studies in Context - GREENR (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.

Search Tips

As shown in the image below, you can try a basic search, using a simple keyword, or you can click on Advanced Search to see more options. You can also choose to browse topics, clicking on "Browse Issues" in the banner below the search box.

(click on image to enlarge)

Browse for Ideas - Biography in Context

Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window

Browse for info on people in science, medicine, technology and more in Biography in Context.

PRACTICE PADLET

Practice
Use padlet to collaborate with your classmates on mapping out my sample topic: renewable energy

Renewable Energy
Encyclopedia article from GVRL

Class Topics

Consider researching a topic related to your class readings. Ideas include, but are not limited to:

Global warming, rising sea levels, and the impact on island nations
Air pollution from overseas sources and global responsibility
How our minds process climate change
How does recycling help the environment? Does recycling cause any environmental problems?
Oil pipelines across tribal lands or environmentally sensitive regions
National parks protection

Browse Local News

Find ways to narrow a broad topic with One Search

Get an Overview of Resources and Approaches to your Topic with Holman Library One Search.

Enter your starting keywords in quotes in the box below.

Ex: "Environmental Education"